wk 4 june 23-28

what is the impression of the library?

after almost four weeks of apprenticeship at the CCp library and archives, my impression remains the same. How I wish there is a similar library in Marinduque. Before completing my dissertation at DLSU and after my initial training at NCCA as a cultural mapping facilitator, I would always remember the wealth and breadth of the premier special library in the country, It is a source of inspiration, I will always return and comeback with the pleasure of having been an apprentice at the CCp library and archives. One month is not enough to make most of the what the library and archives has to offer.

what are the specific assignments given?

although my task is not quite laborious and as extensive as my peers and co-apprentices, I would always cherish the work ethic of the facilitators, staff and personnel of the library and archives. I am at home during mornings, during breaks and even during the library hours with visiting researchers and students from different schools, persuasions and interests. 

what is learned?

i have learned much not only the content that I was looking for and what I was able to amass during my stint at the library and archives. I have learned the daily routine of the particular sections of the library: the general reference, Filipiniana, world culture, serials and audio-visual section. Through indexing philippine studies journal and contemporary art philippines, I was able to browse and dwell on the essentials. I was able to appreciate better the Ramon Obusan Folkloric Group, Dr. Ramon Santos’ mentor and pioneering ethnomusicologist turned national artist Jose Maceda. I was able to learn more about museums, archives, the seven arts and mindanao culture through reading and interacting with my co-apprentices and facilitators.