wk3 june 17-22 report 

june 17 yuchengco, metropolitan museum

june 18 indexing philippine studies journal x art plus magazine

june 20 virgin lab fest set B x noli mi tangere the musical 

unreachable start, anak ka ng x wanted male boarders

june 21 ligaya bayani-amilbangsa x nanding josef and ellen cruz

june 22 pinto art museum x orville tiamson studio

impressions of the library and beyond

To be honest, I have been to Yuchengco or Met Museum before. It is not my first time but I still looked forward in seeing permanent collections, rotating exhibits and new galleries. During my undergraduate years, I would always go from one museum or gallery to the next opening, artist talk or walk through. Every time I get a chance, I will go museum-hopping even other places outside Manila or out of the country. 

During the first two weeks of the apprenticeship, I was given a routine in the library and archives. On the third week, I got to make a practical assignment. Mam Mila asked me to index the more recent journals articles from the Philippine Studies: Ethnographic and Historical Viewpoints. This took me to my roots as a philippine studies major, way back in college days and more recently in postgraduate studies. I initially intended in De La Salle to catalogue all the PSEHV. It was indeed auspicious to be given such assignment. Then I was tasked to index the philippine contemporary art magazine. It was not also new to me, but it was a fulfilling experience because I know some of the writers, artists and even the exhibits or events that was featured. 

Attending the Virgin Lab Fest is also not new to me, even prior to my apprenticeship I am an avid viewer of VLF. Likewise, I am no stranger to Noli Mi Tangere Opera. I watched some excerpts of the rehearsals during the Pasinaya open house last February. I even new personally the performer who portray Elias from Jose RIzal’s novel turned to opera. 

I am also familiar with Ligaya Bayani-Amilbangsa and Orville Tiamson. I was fortunate enough to present a paper in Osaka University when I got to see the Alun-Alun Dance Circle performance in Japan. I think it was a couple of years ago when Mam Ligaya also was a keynote speaker during the DLSU Arts Congress. Although I don’t know Orville Tiamson personally, I know here Aunt Mam Gaying Tiamson-Rubin.     

 

specific assignments, colloquy with gurus and experiencing performances

My task throughout the week is to index Art plus magazine, it was an opportunity to familiarise myself with contemporary art scene. I was pleased to know about the galleries mostly in manila and abroad. I also enjoyed the short feature articles about respective artists and their recent exhibitions. Initially, I was indexing more recent issues of the Ateneo de Manila University academic journal. I was able to see and observe the trends of Filipino related studies, usually written by foreign scholars and related to related themes in history and ethnography in the country. 

We were treated with a free entrance to the technical dress rehearsals of Noli Mi Tangier and Set B of  Virgin Lab Fest 15 last Thursday. The first show was 3pm, we sought permission from our respective work station to leave our posts a bit earlier. We fell in line, and entered the little theater and selected appropriate seats at the bleachers. It was my first time to watch it in the said venue I usually watch VLF at the Huseng Batute blackbox theater. It was a build-up, the first is a bit lacking in terms of characterisation and biased towards the lower class society. The next play is well-written but the execution was a bit dull and dry. The last play was very entertaining and innovative especially with the transition and time lapse.

The opera version of the social realist novel of Jose Rizal was hip and contemporary. However due to its length and technical qualities, it was a bore. I usually have this preconceived notions and assumptions about opera and because of the familiarity with the materials, it prevented me enjoying the full length musical play. Otherwise, it would be highly commendable to the general public especially younger audiences and students.

The very next day is the peak of the apprenticeship program with the cultural immersion. We first visited the performing arts theater of the Resorts Worlds Manila. Although the said venue is closed for repairs and maintenance, we were still given the exclusive access by Mr. Ricky Francisco. He was very gracious enough to tour us with the theater facilities and what it can offer. The next stop is back to the cultural center for a panel discussion on technical theater. We were given anecdoese how the respective resources persons ended up with as a lighting, sound director, costume and set designer. After lunch, we started our long and intermittent supply of ventilation at the coaster  to Marikina. The cause was not lost because we were able to visit Handog Center, shoe museum and Bahay Malaya in Marikina. The experience was reach and commensurate to the efforts of getting to the place. We were very much blessed to partake to the life’s work of Ligaya Amilbangsa, Ellen Crus and Tatang Nanding. We called it a day when we reached Alta Roca resort in Antipolo for dinner and lodging. 

learnings/ insights from the field, stage and the library 

To continue, since were already in the province of Rizal it would be a pity if we won’t be immersed with the exquisite cultural capital of the Philippines. We went straight to pinto gallery and the studio of Orville Tiamson. The travel to National Arts Center from Binangonan was not straightforward. I always wondered about Anggono, my first publication was courtesy of Mam Gaying Tiamson, the artist’s aunt. Nevertheless, it would be a more glorious next time around to visit the Arts Capital of the country. With equal weight in my heart, I always wondered how is it like to stay at the Philippine high school for the arts. It was a wish granted to not only to see but to stay at the National Arts Center. It was indeed a very fulfilling weekend for a cultural immersion. The highlight of the cultural immersion apart from the visit to Rizal Shrine and national shrine in pila, Laguna was the sharing of my co-apprentices. I have learned insights from the composite of the leading regional arts centers in the archipelago. I am very blessed to given such opportunity. I am very excited to share all my learnings when I get home to Marinduque.